Teacher-Student Relation

Today on Talk-Back Thursday we have turned the tables!

Well it is always our hard-working, talented little students writing for the blog! This time it is me, a faculty contributing to our Thursday’s column, i.e. Talk-back Thursday!

I’ve been a teacher for just four years now, and still there’s so much I want to talk about! And if I just go on with my random rambling, maybe only a ringing bell would make me stop!

So the thing that I want to discuss with fellow teachers and students out there is this:

“Is it better to maintain a friendly student-teacher environment?”

I think it is better to have a friendly environment. Not just me, but I can vouch that my colleagues also have the same perspective about it. The simplest reason why I think this tumblr_inline_mun42kbvsZ1rnvwt1.gifworks better is because if the relation is ‘friendly’, students find us approachable and thereby they thoroughly are a part of the whole learning process rather than just sitting in a lecture and listening, or maybe just sitting!

They find it easy to speak up their mind, negate if they don’t agree with something, give their perspective and come up with their doubts if any. And all of these things are actually the part where it is the teacher who learns more! Every new perspective acts as fodder to our brain, every doubt, opens our mind to another alternative and clearing doubts, however scary I had thought it to be in my early days of teaching, were the lessons I learnt apart from books!

Also when the teacher is friendly, students come up, talk to us and share things, just because it feels good for the student to clear up their head, so that they can focus back on their learning!

Also, if something doesn’t happen the way the student wanted, they can only be open to understand the other side of the things only when that environment is comfortable and homely and understanding on both ends!

BorAQ9t.gif

Sometimes people misinterpret friendly with being lenient. Who says being friendly doesn’t mean being strict! You can be both at the same time.

Almost anytime I meet someone I’ve never met before and they come to know that I’m a teacher! The FAQ is how do you manage a class? Do the ‘big-kids’ even listen to you! Well I won’t brag that I’m great at it or anything, but yeah, I haven’t had major issues in class control so far! And maybe, some of its credit goes to the fact that I’m friendly with the tumblr_nzdfoviBMV1qj4315o1_500.gifstudents, and they would know when to stay quiet or when not to because they understand me as well as I understand them.

Of course there are always two sides to the same coin, and yes this ‘keep it friendly’ advice too comes with its own minor downfalls. To avoid those falls, there have to be boundaries!

A student shouldn’t interfere too much with a personal life of a teacher, and the same applies for a teacher as well! The teacher shouldn’t constantly interfere in a student’s personal life, unless asked for.

But isn’t it difficult to actually draw those lines, and when to draw, and when to pull the boundaries? Will the drawing of boundaries push the student away and affect the learning?

Vqmm_f-maxage-0.gifAlso aren’t there students out there, who despite the entire positive atmosphere would still simply refute to make the best of it and hamper the trusting and the learning process altogether? So is it better off for us teachers to maintain a conventional rigid atmosphere for the students?

What do you think? It would be great if you put your insight in the comments section!

Draft: Ms. Sameeta Golatkar

One Comment Add yours

  1. Keep up the excellent job and delivering in the group!

    Like

Leave a Reply

